March 28, 2017

About Us

SIPA Energy Association (SEA) is a student-run organization dedicated to building relationships among SIPA students and energy sector practitioners in the field. In tandem with industry leaders, SEA further endeavors to educate SIPA students about professional opportunities in energy and to foster information-sharing that complements SIPA’s curriculum in Energy and Environment. SEA’s diverse membership brings a variety of professional backgrounds to the organization. Its student members are enrolled in a number of Columbia University programs and SIPA concentrations, including energy, finance, environmental policy, development, sustainability and security. SEA’s members aspire to careers in fields that will directly impact the world’s energy future.

SEA has 180 student members and over 800 alumni members. A partial list of past and present board members can be found here.


  • Co-President: Diego Hentschel in-2crev-128px-r
  • Co-President: William Xu in-2crev-128px-r
  • Vice-President: Astha Ummat in-2crev-128px-r
  • Treasurer: Stephane Slotten in-2crev-128px-r
  • Alumni Outreach Director: Sha Du in-2crev-128px-r
  • Communications Director: Michele Riotta in-2crev-128px-r
  • Competitions Director: David Maravilla in-2crev-128px-r
  • Events Co-Director: Mario Lopez Ahumada in-2crev-128px-r
  • Events Co-Director: Yunwen Sun in-2crev-128px-r
  • External Outreach Co-Director: Jeff Lepley in-2crev-128px-r
  • External Outreach Co-Director: Cinthia Liu in-2crev-128px-r
  • Membership Director: Amy Zhao in-2crev-128px-r
  • Operations Director: Caroline Zhu in-2crev-128px-r
  • Symposium Co-Director: Lilian Dong in-2crev-128px-r
  • Symposium Co-Director: Marisol Leos in-2crev-128px-r
  • Symposium Co-Director: Akhmad Sani in-2crev-128px-r
  • Women in Energy Co-Director: Michelle Hua in-2crev-128px-r
  • Women in Energy Co-Director: Yemi Melka in-2crev-128px-r


  • Co-President: Joseph Crnich
  • Co-President: Eleanor Shi
  • Vice-President: Ilya Karnaukhov
  • Treasurer: Felix Tan
  • Alumni Outreach Director: Anirudh Sharma
  • Communications Director: Katherine Sullivan
  • Competitions Director: Sergio Verdugo
  • Events Co-Director: Utsav Adhikari
  • Events Co-Director: Tom Rollason
  • External Outreach Co-Director: Charles Eberly
  • External Outreach Co-Director: Yuan Tian
  • External Outreach Co-Director: Matus Muron
  • Membership Director: Chris Westling
  • Operations Director: Benjamin Cerini
  • Symposium Co-Director: Jeewon Kim
  • Symposium Co-Director: Colleen Driscoll
  • Women in Energy Co-Director: Cathy Chen
  • Women in Energy Co-Director: Eva (Deb) Castro


  • Co-President: Jamie Hutson
  • Co-President: Shirin Jamshidi
  • Vice-President: Goksenin Ozturkeri
  • Treasurer: Hamilton Foster
  • Alumni Relations Director: Akos Losz
  • Communications Director: Nathan Harold
  • Competitions Director: Aaron Shortell
  • Events Co-Director: Rodrigo Parra-Ferro
  • Events Co-Director: Felix Tan
  • External Outreach Co-Director: Nick Albanese
  • External Outreach Co-Director: Tianying Lan
  • Membership Director: Bartek Walentynski
  • Symposium Co-Director: Joel Smith
  • Symposium Co-Director: Mario Gonzalez
  • Symposium Co-Director: John Young
  • Women in Energy Co-Director: Meixi Gan
  • Women in Energy Co-Director: Caitlin O’Donnell